Reviews Alfie & Hetty

GlebeAustralian$$$$
Good
2.9/6
16 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Hotel Palisade - Henry Deane

Millers Point
5.1/6612
Hotel Palisade - Henry Deane

The Governor Hotel

Macquarie Park
5.0/6210
The Governor Hotel

16 Alfie & Hetty Reviews

Read reviews about Alfie & Hetty here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Alfie & Hetty. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Alfie & Hetty.

Good
2.9/6
16 Reviews
Atmosphere:Lively
Noise levels:Average
Value for money:Reasonable value
Food:Good
Service:Average
Waiting time:Good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Werner M.a year ago · 1 review

Wonderful and delicious food and wine - try the Kir or Kir Royal as an aperitif :-))) and the service is first class - come en France - enjoy

"Great"
5/6
Hiep N.a year ago · 1 review

Great service and ambience, very much French. The food is better than average. There is a wide range of wines to be chosen Australian, French or NZ.

"Great"
5/6
karen r.a year ago · 1 review

Lamb roast was great as always- good wine & chilled out jazz duo playing downstairs on a Sunday night - can't go wrong with this neighbourhood gem.

"Great"
5/6
Tamara C.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent food. Great atmosphere. We had the degustation menu which was fantastic. Would probably describe the food as modern Australian with a modern French influence.

"Okay"
3/6
David M.a year ago · 1 review

Great location, atmosphere, attentive, friendly staff ( partic the French mátre d) , .... Good knowledge of their wines. Happy to substitute parts of a dish ( eg French Fries for Potato). We both chose fillet steak, one medium, one pink/rare. One of us modified the standard plate accompanyments. The ordered "medium" steak came on the rare plate and vise versa ( no problem, we just swapped). The main issue was the seasoning of both the steaks ( both v good cuts of meat ) and indeed the french fries were the same!!. If we had wanted very heavily seasoned steaks that had a strong Asian flavour to them and left ones lips a bit warm after eating, we would have gone to a different restaurant up the road. Sure, when we discussed with them, they did not charge for one of the main courses, but that is not the point. It was a shame. That was our 3rd visit. First was v good all round. Second the service was slow beyond belief and 1 of the 4 main courses was "ok only". We will wait a while and go again. Hopefully not our final visit as it has a lot going for it.

"Bad"
2/6
Janelle M.a year ago · 1 review

We ordered cocktails only to be told 25 minutes later that they did not have the ingredients to make them. We then ordered a bottle of wine only to be told yet again it was not available, in fact 80% of the wine list was not available. Upon ordering food, which took ages to arrive (and some dishes were cold), one of us were provided with roast potatoes as unbelievably, "mash potatoes were unavailable". The staff were not forthcoming when asked why and were not sympathetic. Obviously, some staff had not turned up to their shifts that evening. Some transparency and honesty from the waitstaff would have gone a long way. We will not be going back in a hurry.

"Good"
4/6
Tanya W.a year ago · 3 reviews

A little disappointing this time around after such a wonderful time previously. Food was wonderful though. Ambience upstairs and service it would also appear is more on the cosy / friendly side.

"Good"
4/6
Rebecca S.a year ago · 1 review

Delicious food (the lamb shoulder is amazing! and it's perfect for a night out in Winter). The staff are poorly trained and their service is is slow and not especially polished.

"Okay"
3/6
Amy K.a year ago · 1 review

This place used to be great, but it must have changed hands/chef. The shared roast was a bland, stodgy letdown, they didn't have the cocktail or the wine we ordered, and the desserts were unimaginative.

"Okay"
3/6
Bella G.a year ago · 1 review

Usually Alfie and Hetty's is a wonderful experience, but it seems they struggle on a Saturday night. The food was average (when it is usually incredible).