Reviews Bamboo House

Melbourne CBDChinese, Asian$$$$
Excellent
5.4/6
274 Reviews
Bamboo House Melbourne image 1
Bamboo House Melbourne image 2
Bamboo House Melbourne image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

274 Bamboo House Reviews

Read reviews about Bamboo House here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Bamboo House. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Bamboo House.

Excellent
5.4/6
274 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Phillip T.2 days ago · 1 review

It was a great night out, will return soon, all of us will

New"Excellent"
6/6
Robyn S.7 days ago · 1 review

We had a nice table near the window with plenty of space. The waiter suggested that he could choose our food and it was the best thing ever. All the courses were amazing but specially the zucchini flowers filled with minced pork and Peking duck pancakes. A wonderful experience and meal.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Tracey G.8 days ago · 1 review

The food was amazing and the staff were fantastic. Highly recommend.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sue W.8 days ago · 1 review

Awesome food and amazing staff , a favourite restaurant of ours

"Excellent"
6/6
Yew K.2 months ago · 1 review

Nice ambience, tables nicely spaced from each other. Reception and staff service very friendly, attentive without being over bearing. Good first impressions. Menu was extensive enough, and what made me go to try this restaurant me was the Sichuan Tea Smoked duck which is one of my top favourite dish that I have enjoyed every time I had it while working & living in China for almost 30 years. This dish at Bamboo House was exactly spot on, in taste and texture, accompanied by generous number of freshly steamed buns to go with it. The other dish that was also a standout was the entree of Shanghai style smoked fish. Again spot on as one would find in Shanghai. Our (2 of us) third course was braised mushroom w crab meat. While this was also delicately done, I had expected a variety of mushrooms but instead only button mushrooms, and not enough of crab meat (I think it was canned crab meat). It was tasty enough but paled in comparison to the first two abovementioned dishes. Prices were a bit steep but for the overall experience and quality & taste of dishes that are not normally offered in most places, it’s worth to go for that special occasion. For the 3 course meal with tea and rice, the bill came to $99.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kay M.a year ago · 1 review

Bamboo House has to be one of the best Chinese Restaurants in Melbourne. The food is excellent. We started with Assorted Dim Sum which were delicious, Pekin Duck was excellent, meaty pieces of duck, crispy skin and minimal fat. Sliced beef with shallots was tasty and our friends ordered a combination noodle dish which was okay but not something we would usually order, a little bland for us, but they loved it. My husband tells me the wine was reasonably priced. Service was friendly, quick and waitress helpful. We are looking forward to our next visit to Bamboo House.

"Excellent"
6/6
Justine B.a month ago · 1 review

I found this restaurant by a google search of 'best dumplings in Melbourne'. When I arrived with my family, the outside of the restaurant didnt blow me away. But when you get inside, its a really lovely restaurant. The BEST PART is the food and the service - I would say its one of the best chinese restaurants in Melbourne, just on food and service! It may not have the flashiness of Silks at Crown, but if you want an amazing chinese meal and world class service - I would highly recommend Bamboo House. We will be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Carol A.a year ago · 1 review

This was my second visit to the Bamboo House Restaurant, I found it to be most welcoming, the service was excellent, even though they were extremely busy. The food was amazing with many many choices, and served with adequate time to enjoy each course. I absolutely love the way the waiters memorise your order and bring it to you exactly how you asked. Wine was beautiful and they made sure glass was never empty. The staff were very friendly and explained the various dishes well. Pricing was very good, Will definately be going back.

New"Excellent"
6/6
sharon n.11 days ago · 1 review

We had a wonderful meal at Bamboo House. The staff were very attentive and enjoyed some banter. Unfortunately we found it a little noisy and having older parents with us it was a little difficult to communicate. But that said we had a great time out at Bamboo House and would go there again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Christopher H.a year ago · 1 review

Great dining experience at Bamboo House. Very busy and noisy but we were moved to a quieter table when we mentioned this. Service is excellent, attentive but not intrusive. Half serve of Peking duck is succulent and tasty and served all ready to eat. Sweet and sour pork was very tasty with fresh light batter. Wine list is comprehensive and reasonably priced compared to other good restaurants. Our go to Chinese restaurant whenever we are in Melbourne. Highly recommended.