Reviews Baringo Food & Wine

New GisborneGourmet$$$$
Excellent
5.3/6
47 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo

47 Baringo Food & Wine Reviews

Read reviews about Baringo Food & Wine here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Baringo Food & Wine. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Baringo Food & Wine.

Excellent
5.3/6
47 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Katherine S.a year ago · 1 review

Always have a great experience at Baringo. We love it there. The food was lovely last night and the steak specials menu was a bonus!

"Excellent"
6/6
Ben J.a year ago · 1 review

Service was friendly and good with no pressure to finish. Food was enjoyable, there was a good selection of local and imported wine, and the atmosphere pleasant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jeff G.a year ago · 2 reviews

Outstanding service and amazing food, arguably the finest eat in Gisborne, great selection between modern European and the Japanese with a wine cellar that has some amazing options

"Excellent"
6/6
Joel M.a year ago · 1 review

Beautiful lunch and polite and attentive staff made this a most enjoyable experience. The surrounds were modern, clean and gave a real sense of class! Would highly recommend to anyone!

"Okay"
3/6
Jennifer M.a year ago · 2 reviews

The Japanese food ($85/head) was delicious. The experience, however, was not great. Our server whinged that the owners had not rostered enough staff for the evening. No refills of water unless requested (pls note you pay $5 per head for water), 3 glasses of wine were added to the bill that were neither ordered nor consumed (we noticed this once we got home). We were a couple celebrating our anniversary - clearly loading up on food and drinks and although there was space in the dining room we had a family with babies placed right next to us. There is a $20 corkage charge. It's a shame, really, as we're local and there just aren't that many places in the area that have high-end food. Still, if you're going to charge fine dining prices you need to provide high-end service. Not sure when we'll return.

"Great"
5/6
Sally C.a year ago · 1 review

We were there on a Friday night, so had the Italian menu. The food was very fresh, with a great mix of flavours and nicely presented. The wines were very, very good. The service was wonderful - professional and friendly. It was lovely sitting out in the courtyard after dinner, with a glass of wine listening to the Jazz Band playing in the front room. All in all a great night (although a bit expensive for us to be able to do regularly). Highly recommend them.

"Great"
5/6
Richard M.a year ago · 1 review

Delicious food and wine with friendly service. I was told that I could choose a bottle of wine from their wine shop with a $20 corkage to drink in the restaurant. I spent $98 and then I found out that if I had spent $2 more I wouldn't had to pay corkage. Would have been nice to have been told that!

"Good"
4/6
Chris C.a year ago · 1 review

Entrees delivered 10 mins apart from each other. Bones found in one serve of main fish dish and balance of the fish for the main dish was delivered later...forgotten. Main course was only so so taste wise. We did enjoy the entrees, very nice. Very apologetic and we were offered complimentary desert to share and coffees. Very apologetic. Wait service was very good.

"Bad"
2/6
June W.a year ago · 1 review

Great menu and venue but sadly our meals were over cooked, we waited more than 2 hours for mains. Our waiter provided great service in ordinary circumstances - but our meals when they eventually arrived where deliver by a surly face unpleasant man who dropped them on the table without a word! Owner should consider a plan to manage such circumstances- provide a cost effective incentive for diners to return, a free wine or discount for what was. clearly an uncomfortable evening - lots of genuine apologies from waiter is not sufficient to make any one our party return. I would not ask for discount- I do not complain on the night but will not come back. There r lots of choices for dining.

"Great"
5/6
Carolyn F.a year ago · 1 review

Thanks guys, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The service was great and the food was sensational. Its so good to have a restaurant like this in Gisborne that offers the variety that you do! We just wished that we had been seated out the back for the Japanese experience.