Reviews Hwatu

CarltonKorean, Asian, BBQ$$$$
Very Good
4.1/6
14 Reviews
Hwatu Melbourne image 1
Hwatu Melbourne image 2
Hwatu Melbourne image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

14 Hwatu Reviews

Read reviews about Hwatu here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Hwatu. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Hwatu.

Very Good
4.1/6
14 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Average
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Good
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Ashvinder S.5 months ago · 90 reviews

the food was excellent and the staff were really helpful

"Excellent"
6/6
Rico P.a year ago · 2 reviews

Amazing food and place :) Loved the fried chicken ~ Would also recommend the flavoured rice wine :) They open late too so that's definitely a plus

"Excellent"
6/6
Samantha L.a year ago · 1 review

Amazing korean fried chicken, kimchi pancake, hot pot and jap chae!! Great service. Good condiments. Overall 5/5 dining experience. We would definitely come back again.

"Great"
5/6
Sean O.a year ago · 1 review

Food was excellent, good atmosphere, staffs were very friendly, so overall it was very satisfying

"Bad"
2/6
Belinda Y.a year ago · 1 review

Always enjoyed a pleasant dining experience at Hwatu and frequented it often - food was delicious and service was prompt and friendly. So I was both surprised and disappointed to find recently that Hwatu has a team of new staff who do not appear to have been adequately trained before being rostered to undertake front of house duties. The wait time between placing your order and food arriving at your table is an average of 1/2 hour now. The kitchen seems more preoccupied with fulfilling their UberEats/Deliveroo/Foodora orders than that of the many sit-down customers forced to snack on small side dishes; getting increasingly frustrated by the absurdly long wait, some even getting up to query how long more the wait was going to be. After a 45 minute wait, the waiter actually came up to our table and asked us to put in our order AGAIN (took them 45 mins to realize that they had LOST our order), I asked for our new order to please be bumped up in the kitchen's priority list but nope, even the table that had just sat down 15 minutes ago got food put down on their table first. Worse still is the fact that customers/food couriers/even front of house staff kept leaving the front door wide open each time after other diners/my guests and myself had to repeatedly get up to shut the door, or face the chilly blast that streamed into the restaurant through the open door (Hwatu does not seem to have any heating on within the restaurant itself). Massively disappointing dining experiences and I hope restaurant management resolves these hang-ups sooner rather than later.

"Good"
4/6
Vivien L.5 months ago · 1 review

Good value especially for larger groups. The fried chicken and bbq were nice and flavoursome but the stews and japchae were too salty. The staff member said they would give us a free menu item because we ordered alot, but we were charged for it anyway.

"Great"
5/6
Laura P.a year ago · 2 reviews

Huge serving sizes and yum food! Recommend: - chive pancakes - bibimbap (not wholly traditional but much more veg and lighter than the usual which is very welcome during summer!) - jap chae

"Good"
4/6
Nadia C.a year ago · 1 review

Great food, good price, lacked atmosphere but got better towards 9pm. The service was ok and the wine menu was very limited. Overall? I'd go back for a quick good Korean BBQ

"Good"
4/6
Weng W.a year ago · 263 reviews

This restaurants serves up some the tastiest Korean food I've eaten. The atmosphere is nice and the staff are friendly. All the dishes where nice and great mix with soju!

"Good"
4/6
Denise T.a year ago · 1 review

The waiting time is a bit slow however it’s not too bad overall . Staff are friendly and the food are great. The price is a bit high though.