The Apartment Edinburgh image 1
The Apartment Edinburgh image 2
The Apartment Edinburgh image 3
The Apartment Edinburgh image 4
The Apartment Edinburgh image 5
The Apartment Edinburgh image 6
The Apartment Edinburgh image 7

The Apartment

Bruntsfield · European, British · ££££
Excellent
5.3/6
296 Reviews

About The Apartment

The Apartment is a relaxed, casual, eclectic neighbourhood restaurant situated within Edinburgh's south side, close to The Meadows, Bruntsfield and Tollcross on Barclay Place. Established since 1999, this intimate restaurant is the place to go to enjoy delicious modern British cuisine and a bottle of wine in a stylish setting. Lunch is served daily with a great set menu offered at a discounted price up to 7p.m. as well as daily specials. Book ahead to guarantee a table!

Opening Times

Open now - Closes at 10:15 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm

Address

The Apartment
7-13 Barclay Place, Bruntsfield
Edinburgh EH10 4HW

Chef's Choice

31CA78D5-C09A-4F44-A73F-187385966112

Chef's Recommendations

seared scallops, raisins, capers, apple & chicory

rump of lamb, roasted rainbow beets, pea verde, confit carrots & berry gravy

honey & yoghurt panna cotta, biscotti

23914FCF-1514-4544-82D9-2C2EDB2B8818

Desserts

Nutmeg & Ginger Sponge

Rhubarb Compote & custard.
£5.00
Don't miss out on a table!

Main Menu

Group Set Menu

pdf

Pudding and drinks list

pdf

wine list

pdf

August a la carte

pdf

August lunch

pdf

Pre Theatre

pdf

More about The Apartment, Edinburgh

The Apartment on Barclay Place in Edinburgh’s Bruntsfield area oozes style and sophistication with its sleek, elegant but casual decor. The menu is ever changing in order to utilise the freshest and most seasonal British ingredients. Begin your meal with a starter such as pan fried pigeon breast with wild mushrooms, chestnuts and parsnip purée, or seared scallops with pickled apple and chorizo. On the main course menu, signature dishes include confit duck leg served with boudin noir - a French charcuterie blood sausage, and slow roasted vegetables.

With an extensive range of desserts including chocolate pave with sea salted dulce de lechefresh fruit and a spread of beautiful British cheeses, you won’t want to miss out so be sure to leave some room. The Apartment boasts a lengthy list of wines and champagne to suit all budgets, as well as an unpretentious cocktail menu. This Bruntsfield restaurant on Barclay Place is popular with those after a piece of casual fine dining in the heart of Edinburgh, so booking a reservation in advance is recommended.

296 The Apartment Reviews

"Excellent"6/6
Andrew M.a day ago · 1 review

Lovely evening- delicious food and service with a smile. Relaxed atmosphere. Loved the hummus bread and oil dip and vegetarian skewers.

"Excellent"6/6
Blaire M.21 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food, wonderful service. My step mother is lactose intolerant and she received help with ordering from the menu which was very kind of the lady serving as she ran back an forth to the kitchen to check everything would be fine for her to eat. Courses had plenty time between them which was fine for us as we had allocated 2 hours to having dinner before our evening plans and I worried that dinner wouldn’t take long enough! The only thing I would say is that it is a little on the pricey side however we felt the quality of the food and drinks well matched the price paid. Will be returning.

"Excellent"6/6
Iain B.a month ago · 2 reviews

Very good service. Good value nice food. Well situated for King Theatre.

"Excellent"6/6
Jonathan C.a month ago · 1 review

Great food and great service! Would highly recomend. Nice atmosphere tho a wee bit noisy after 9.00pm on the Friday we were there. Central location.

"Good"4/6
Gemma P.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Decent food, very good choice of wine. Lovely decor but I still prefer their sister restaurant "The Outsider" on George IV Bridge. In comparison The Apartment's menu had a more narrow selection and I found it difficult to choose what I wanted for a different reason to my visits at The Outsider, where I would be happy ordering anything from that menu. The staff were lovely and very helpful but with being sat at a table in the corner, I felt we didn't receive attention as often as perhaps we would have preferred. All in all, it was a good experience but maybe next time for lunch instead of a dinner for a special occasion. I think there are other places I prefer to eat in the city.

"Great"5/6
Francesca O.2 years ago · 4 reviews

It is years since I've been to The Apartment and it used to have a reputation for its unfriendly service and being slightly up itself in how it explained its menu. Changed days. The service was friendly and helpful. The menu was interesting and very tasty. I had a starter of duck egg and white asparagus which was lovely but personally would have preferred a different sauce to aioli. The main course of gnocchi, capers and goats cheese curd was similarly too and was a huge portion (I gave it a good go). A very enjoyable evening.

"Excellent"6/6
Kati W.2 years ago · 1 review

We were looking for a special family dinner out to celebrate my husband's birthday and The Apartment did not disappoint. Everything about it - from the friendly welcome to the imaginative menu to the courteous service - set the scene perfectly. Our meals were excellent - perfectly presented and insanely delicious. We look forward to visiting again and sampling further menus throughout the year.

"Excellent"6/6
Jo D.8 months ago · 1 review

I chose to visit The Apartment on the recommendation of the guests I had with me and was not disappointed. Food was very tasty and reasonably priced and waiting staff very attentive and pleasant. Our evening was somewhat spoiled by a rather noisy group of young women at the next table making conversation difficult but not a lot you can do about that.

"Great"5/6
Jill B.2 years ago · 1 review

We had a lovely evening! Food and service were both excellent, and we weren't rushed to release the table - particularly appreciated on what was obviously a busy evening for you. Our only (minor) criticism would be that noise levels were high, although I had requested a quiet table, but we appreciate that there was something on at the King's. The Apartment is excellent value, and we'll certainly be back!

"Excellent"6/6
Robert W.2 years ago · 2 reviews

My son and I arrived at 5pm on a quiet Tuesday summer evening. Staff (the main man) was running around rearringing a few tables and chairs in preparation for the usual busy evening to come. Service was friendly and efficient as always. The menu is excellent but my son and I can't resist a good steak so once again the flat iron steaks (medium rare) topped the bill and for the fifth or sixth time in a row they were superb. Crusty bread and olives for starters and plenty of time to relax and enjoy a coffee to finish. Looking forward to our next visit and maybe one day I'll try something different.

......
2 People
There is no availability for this merchant.
Today (Saturday)
February 2018
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Choose a time: