EN
The Apartment Edinburgh image 1
The Apartment Edinburgh image 2
The Apartment Edinburgh image 3
The Apartment Edinburgh image 4
The Apartment Edinburgh image 5
The Apartment Edinburgh image 6
The Apartment Edinburgh image 7

The Apartment

Bruntsfield · European, British · ££££
Excellent
5.3/6
280 Reviews

About The Apartment

The Apartment is a relaxed, casual, eclectic neighbourhood restaurant situated within Edinburgh's south side, close to The Meadows, Bruntsfield and Tollcross on Barclay Place. Established since 1999, this intimate restaurant is the place to go to enjoy delicious modern British cuisine and a bottle of wine in a stylish setting. Lunch is served daily with a great set menu offered at a discounted price up to 7p.m. as well as daily specials. Book ahead to guarantee a table!

Go to The Apartment Page

Address

The Apartment
7-13 Barclay Place, Bruntsfield
Edinburgh EH10 4HW

Opening Times

Closed today
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:15 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:15 pm

Chef's Choice

31CA78D5-C09A-4F44-A73F-187385966112

Chef's Recommendations

seared scallops, raisins, capers, apple & chicory

rump of lamb, roasted rainbow beets, pea verde, confit carrots & berry gravy

honey & yoghurt panna cotta, biscotti

23914FCF-1514-4544-82D9-2C2EDB2B8818

Desserts

Nutmeg & Ginger Sponge

Rhubarb Compote & custard.
£5.00

Menu (General)

Group Set Menu

Every Day - All Day
pdf

Pudding and drinks list

Every Day - All Day
pdf

wine list

Every Day - All Day
pdf

August a la carte

Every Day - All Day
pdf

August lunch

Every Day - All Day
pdf

Pre Theatre

Every Day - All Day
pdf

Further Information

The Apartment on Barclay Place in Edinburgh’s Bruntsfield area oozes style and sophistication with its sleek, elegant but casual decor. The menu is ever changing in order to utilise the freshest and most seasonal British ingredients. Begin your meal with a starter such as pan fried pigeon breast with wild mushrooms, chestnuts and parsnip purée, or seared scallops with pickled apple and chorizo. On the main course menu, signature dishes include confit duck leg served with boudin noir - a French charcuterie blood sausage, and slow roasted vegetables.

With an extensive range of desserts including chocolate pave with sea salted dulce de lechefresh fruit and a spread of beautiful British cheeses, you won’t want to miss out so be sure to leave some room. The Apartment boasts a lengthy list of wines and champagne to suit all budgets, as well as an unpretentious cocktail menu. This Bruntsfield restaurant on Barclay Place is popular with those after a piece of casual fine dining in the heart of Edinburgh, so booking a reservation in advance is recommended.

280 The Apartment Reviews

"Excellent"6/6
Pauline T.4 days ago · 1 review

Very friendly staff who were welcoming and efficient. The choice of menu was extensive and the food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

"Excellent"6/6
Laura M.8 days ago · 2 reviews

Been here before and always enjoyed. Great food which is tasty and a bit different. The service is also lovely. It's also not too pricey.

"Excellent"6/6
Jimmy A.14 days ago · 3 reviews

All dishes were magnificent, truly excellent taste combinations with quality ingredients. Service is great as always and we love the fact that the menus get updated often - which makes every visit here special. Truly among the best foodie experiences in Edinburgh.

"Excellent"6/6
Patrick V.18 days ago · 1 review

The apartment was very good . We had A steak and iT was pefectly baked. Here are werking very nicy people. Dus helemaal fantastisch geweldig

"Good"4/6
Gemma P.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Decent food, very good choice of wine. Lovely decor but I still prefer their sister restaurant "The Outsider" on George IV Bridge. In comparison The Apartment's menu had a more narrow selection and I found it difficult to choose what I wanted for a different reason to my visits at The Outsider, where I would be happy ordering anything from that menu. The staff were lovely and very helpful but with being sat at a table in the corner, I felt we didn't receive attention as often as perhaps we would have preferred. All in all, it was a good experience but maybe next time for lunch instead of a dinner for a special occasion. I think there are other places I prefer to eat in the city.

"Great"5/6
Francesca O.2 years ago · 4 reviews

It is years since I've been to The Apartment and it used to have a reputation for its unfriendly service and being slightly up itself in how it explained its menu. Changed days. The service was friendly and helpful. The menu was interesting and very tasty. I had a starter of duck egg and white asparagus which was lovely but personally would have preferred a different sauce to aioli. The main course of gnocchi, capers and goats cheese curd was similarly too and was a huge portion (I gave it a good go). A very enjoyable evening.

"Excellent"6/6
Kati W.2 years ago · 1 review

We were looking for a special family dinner out to celebrate my husband's birthday and The Apartment did not disappoint. Everything about it - from the friendly welcome to the imaginative menu to the courteous service - set the scene perfectly. Our meals were excellent - perfectly presented and insanely delicious. We look forward to visiting again and sampling further menus throughout the year.

"Excellent"6/6
Jo D.6 months ago · 1 review

I chose to visit The Apartment on the recommendation of the guests I had with me and was not disappointed. Food was very tasty and reasonably priced and waiting staff very attentive and pleasant. Our evening was somewhat spoiled by a rather noisy group of young women at the next table making conversation difficult but not a lot you can do about that.

"Great"5/6
Jill P.2 years ago · 1 review

We had a lovely evening! Food and service were both excellent, and we weren't rushed to release the table - particularly appreciated on what was obviously a busy evening for you. Our only (minor) criticism would be that noise levels were high, although I had requested a quiet table, but we appreciate that there was something on at the King's. The Apartment is excellent value, and we'll certainly be back!

"Excellent"6/6
Robert W.a year ago · 2 reviews

My son and I arrived at 5pm on a quiet Tuesday summer evening. Staff (the main man) was running around rearringing a few tables and chairs in preparation for the usual busy evening to come. Service was friendly and efficient as always. The menu is excellent but my son and I can't resist a good steak so once again the flat iron steaks (medium rare) topped the bill and for the fifth or sixth time in a row they were superb. Crusty bread and olives for starters and plenty of time to relax and enjoy a coffee to finish. Looking forward to our next visit and maybe one day I'll try something different.

2 People
12345678910
Today (Sunday)
December 2017
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Choose a time:
social
Apps
©2017 Quandoo GmbH. All rights reserved