Reviews The Metz on the Bay

Sandy BayAustralian$$$$
Excellent
4.5/6
22 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 1 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Beef & Seafood Grill

Hobart CBD
4.4/610
Beef & Seafood Grill

22 The Metz on the Bay Reviews

Read reviews about The Metz on the Bay here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Metz on the Bay. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Metz on the Bay.

Excellent
4.5/6
22 Reviews
Food:Great
Service:Great
Noise levels:Average
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Elspeth L.a year ago · 1 review

Great food. Calamari was so tender and delicious. Had it there twice and it was perfect both times. Good wine selection. Prices very reasonable too.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kaylie V.a year ago · 1 review

We had a great night, the meals were very yummy and filling. The waiter was very friendly, helpful and happy, he wasn't trying to rush you at any stage, we had a great night. Thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
Deming-Brendan W.a year ago · 1 review

Table service was excellent. Food was well prepared and cooked. Staffs were friendly. Price was affordable. Would definitely go back for all occasions. We had a lovely night.

"Excellent"
6/6
Greg M.a year ago · 1 review

Had a wonderful time at METZ the food was great and the service was fantastic the staff couldn't do enough for us when they bought out the birthday cake my wife was overjoyed. Thank you METZ.

"Great"
5/6
Rowena N.a year ago · 1 review

The only issue I would raise with mine, and my friends, experience the night we were at The Metz was the loud music as, unbeknownst to us, someone was celebrating their 21st that night too-- which is not the issue and beside the point. But yes, there were times when my friends and I could not hear each other and baiscally had to yell/speak quiet loudly just to hear each other and ourselves. It also didn't help that we were sitting next to the DJ booth. Otherwise, the food and service was excellent.

"Okay"
3/6
Anita L.a year ago · 1 review

The service was outstanding. They were attentive and the the meals were quickly brought to the table. A job well done . So why the 3? . There was a private function on at the same time which spilled into the area set aside for walkins and bookings. This meant we were surrounded by young families ; and how should I put this ; had trouble keeping there young children under any sort of control. This made for a very unpleasant atmosphere. I would suggest in the future that these private functions are kept just that private and do not encroach on other guests; or close the facilty for the night and only allow guests of the function to attend.

"Bad"
2/6
Libby O.a year ago · 1 review

The food was a long time coming, and honestly, it was pretty ordinary. I had the tortellini which was dry and unappetizing. My son had the chicken parmigiana which he said was good. The Moroccan lamb was not Moroccan - it sat on couscous but lacked all the requisite spices. The scotch fillet steak was fatty. The scallops were probably the best dish at the table. The chips were also good. The service was bad - our waiter was not in the least interested in his job. The noise level was dreadful. We could not have a conversation due to the surrounding din. We had been seated in the bar area and I think there were quieter tables outside it. Overall - we won't be going back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ian S.a year ago · 1 review

The service was excellent as was the food. The lemon tart on the desert menu was lovely but if I was to make a suggestion it would be to add one more choice to the desert menu. Something for chocolate lovers.

"Bad"
2/6
Brooke G.a year ago · 3 reviews

Average food and poor service (only one waitress), didn't even remember a drink we ordered during the meal so we ended up just leaving after the meal. Although the people were nice, it was still poor service. And again, the food average - the menu did not say that the chicken breast would be in a creamy sauce.. and the 'roast' potatoes were more like a few slithers of potato drowned in cream.. Metz used to be one of my favourite places a few years back, but a lot of people I have spoken to also agree now that unfortunately it has gone down hill a bit and I would really recommend anymore.

"Excellent"
6/6
William I.a year ago · 1 review

Friendly service, good selection of food & drinks. Quality of food also excellent and even got a discount as we had to wait for the food (though the wait didn't seem particularly long to us).