Reviews Wagyu Ya

South YarraJapanese, Asian, BBQ, Sushi$$$$
Excellent
5.1/6
305 Reviews
Wagyu Ya Melbourne image 1
Wagyu Ya Melbourne image 2
Wagyu Ya Melbourne image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

305 Wagyu Ya Reviews

Read reviews about Wagyu Ya here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Wagyu Ya. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Wagyu Ya.

Excellent
5.1/6
305 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Good value
Service:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Herlien H.20 hours ago · 17 reviews

I love lunch at wagyu ya as they have the bento box. Great tasting food and always cook in perfection. Place is small but enough recommends to book before as always full

New"Excellent"
6/6
Mizuki M.2 days ago · 4 reviews

It was tasty as always. My partner and I really love your bento box. Definitely will come back for this again.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Stuart Y.8 days ago · 1 review

Amazing food, love the beef and the freshest sashimi. Great service too

New"Excellent"
6/6
Chris J.14 days ago · 1 review

Loved it, the food and service was amazing, will definitely be coming back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Vivian T.a year ago · 1 review

Wagyu Ya have successfully replicated a typical grill restaurant in Japan in terms of layout, ambience and food quality. There is an extensive variety of premium quality meat cuts and Japanese beer, sake, shochu and whiskey. There is even a separate menu for marble 10+ wagyu which I highly recommend. The desserts are delicate yet have the subtle notes of typical japanese flavours of yuzu and matcha. The staff are very accommodating. Although the price is on the dearer side, it's worth it as this is the standard you receive in Japan. I highly recommend this place.

"Great"
5/6
Carol T.8 months ago · 1 review

We had a great dinner at Wagyu Ya. We had the charcoal grill which was fun and something we hadn't experienced before at a Japanese restaurant. The service was good too. We were a group of 8 and the only thing I found a bit annoying was when confirming our booking it was stated we only had the table for 1.5 hours. When doing a set menu or several courses with a group of people this is a tight time frame and makes the experience less enjoyable if you feel pushed for time. In the end the restaurant wasn't that busy so it didn't matter. However I think its a current trend that is very off-putting.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chrissy W.6 months ago · 9 reviews

It was my second visit to Wagyu Ya. As always, Wagyu Ya has the best Wagyu beef and authentic Japanese dishes to serve, we really enjoyed our dinner at Wagyu Ya, will definitely book again when we visit next time.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chrissy W.4 months ago · 9 reviews

It was my third visit to Wagyu Ya, Wagyu Ya is definitely my favourite Japanese restaurant in Melbourne. The staffs are always friendly and attentive, nice food, nice ambience, nice service, nothing to fault!

"Excellent"
6/6
Vee D.6 months ago · 1 review

What a great experience and such quality ingredients. If you have ever been to Japan and miss eating premium waygu, this is the place to go. Or even to experience the 'hype' of what wagyu is, this is a must! The service is sliver platter, with the option of your host cooking your meats for you. The sashimi was fresh, clean and beautifully presented. Great range of drinks, not just beer, cider but a wide range of sake too. A place worth checking out!

"Bad"
2/6
Jacky C.a year ago · 1 review

Upon walking into the restaurant i was excited, but that excitement did not last as once we were sat down, there was no explanation of the menus. Further more once we had ordered our Luxe set, no explanation of each item was described to us. When the main star came out, cuts of wagyu. They were still cold and clearly straight from the fridge, this leaving 2/4 cuts we received were more rubbery then I have experienced with Wagyu. The seafood left a lot to be desired and our fruit platter was rushed out even before there was confirmation of the staff that we had finished. Our experience was further dulled as my girlfriend received the bad end of some charcoal in her eye as they were taking the bbq away. When we alerted staff as we were went to pay our bill, we were meet with a "uhh..sorry? did you want pay cash or card" Baffled by the poor response we paid and left with an even more sour taste. I really wanted to like this place but each step of the dinner left me with a more sour taste of the place, the only positive was ambience with the painted walls and lantern lights. After such a poor experience it is no a place that i would recommend to friends or family.