Reviews Tahniah by Grace

Hawthorn EastMalaysian, Asian$$$$
Very Good
4.3/6
11 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Taxiboat

Northcote
5.3/690
Taxiboat

Chin Chin's at Koto Moon

Carlton
5.2/617
Chin Chin's at Koto Moon

11 Tahniah by Grace Reviews

Read reviews about Tahniah by Grace here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Tahniah by Grace. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Tahniah by Grace.

Very Good
4.3/6
11 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Leah W.a year ago · 2 reviews

Our new favourite for authentic Malaysian fare! Simply beautiful cuisine so fresh & delicious, we took a group of friends and everyone was super impressed! Excellent service and ambiance, can’t wait to go back & try more dishes. Great value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Cassie D.a year ago · 1 review

We sat in the beautiful back indoor/outdoor room, beautiful, airy and warm Everyone enjoyed their food - all from the Express lunch menu. I think there will be more people visiting from our company :) Lunch prices are awesome too!

"Great"
5/6
Vic P.a year ago · 1 review

We were a party of 4 and the food was great. Just right for such a hot night. Service was a little slow but friendly, a busy night.

"Great"
5/6
Josephine L.a year ago · 4 reviews

Beautiful orchid garden and nice ambience. Good service and food was nicely presented. Wasn’t aware of this place until one of my colleague saw a post on Instagram.

"Bad"
2/6
Eric L.a year ago · 3 reviews

I am a Malaysian and what we had did not suit my palate at all; not the usual Malaysian fare which is so abundantly served elsewhere. The highlights of our meal was the Turmeric Rice (!!) and the Tandoori Lamb Cutlets. The Entree Platter was good. We also liked the tomato'y Hainanese Chicken Chop. The Satay Chicken was also very tasty but without the usual peanut based satay sauce which we have come to expect. Mixed Vegetables and Nonya Curry Laksa were not liked at all. Staff and Management were very polite: We were offered a complimentary Fruit Tea Salad .. basically hot tea slightly infused with a mixture of fruits ... sorry to say that it did not rock our boat at all ... In addition, there were also 3 lowlights: (1) We asked for Indian Rojak but it wasn't available and we were offered "Prawn Crackers" instead (which usually is an ingredient of Indian Rojak - a deep fried doughy-cracker with embedded shrimps, etc.): This came out uninviting, and turned out to be so hard that we all can do is attempt a bite (without cracking our teeth) and then stopped; dish was practically untouched. (2) We were offered a fruit salad of sorts: Diced fruits with an excruciating sweet mayo which did not go at all for that dish - we all only took a small sampling bite, and left it all untouched. (3) The Honey-Avocado Ice Cream was a huge No-No for me and my partner; the younger couple with us though it was edible, just. Not a good experience in all. Maybe we ordered all the wrong dishes ... maybe it will suit other palates.

"Good"
4/6
Eunice C.a year ago · 1 review

Loved the satay. We decided to check out the nasi lemak and nasi Kunyit . The ikan bilis served with the nasi lemak was absolutely fantastic - very crispy and tasty. We would have preferred the chicken as a curry rather than deep fried - made the dish too dry. The red braised chicken served with the nasi kunyit was too sweet for my tastebuds. Pity as it was otherwise beautifully cooked. The satay sauce was similarly a tad too sweet. What is it with Malaysian restaurants in Oz piling on the sugar? We had sago gula Melaka and pilot hitam (black glutinous rice) for dessert- both lovely texture and delicious. Price was higher than most but offset by a generous serving size

"Great"
5/6
Anna D.a year ago · 1 review

1st time at Tahnia’s and would most definitely return. We were offered the Christmas menu special- a selection of 6 very tasty dishes for a mere $25 per person. Very good value. The only downside- for some strange reason it was very quiet for a Saturday night and for this reason it was somewhat missing an atmosphere- but overall lovely place, food and staff.

"Great"
5/6
Craig M.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent clean, bright and well balance food. The service was attentive. The only down side was a very limited wine list, a couple bottles of which were not available. Otherwise a 6.

"Good"
4/6
Helen B.2 years ago · 1 review

Service very good and surroundings pleasant. Well priced although serves quite small. Beef rendang well flavoured but tough and roti very ordinary. Black glutinous rice the best in town!

"Good"
4/6
Khairi R.a year ago · 1 review

Went on Sunday for lunch. Easy to find. No other patron. Good service. Close enough to the authentic flavour. Could be a little more spicier.