Reviews The Laneway Brasserie

Hawthorn EastEuropean$$$$
Excellent
5.0/6
78 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Six Keys Restaurant

Beaumaris
5.5/6219
Six Keys Restaurant

Stray Neighbour

Preston
5.1/6119
Stray Neighbour

78 The Laneway Brasserie Reviews

Read reviews about The Laneway Brasserie here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Laneway Brasserie. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Laneway Brasserie.

Excellent
5.0/6
78 Reviews
Food:Great
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew T.5 months ago · 1 review

The food was fantastic. The Garlic Prawns were some of the best I have had and the Rib Eye Steak. Just Mouth Watering. Staff were very friendly, had a really great dinner. Will be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Warrick D.5 months ago · 1 review

We were welcomed by a really nice young man (Charlie). He looked after us really well. He’s an asset to the place. The decor is warm and welcoming. The food excellent (large serves). A really nice lunchtime experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
Robyn C.5 months ago · 3 reviews

We had a great meal, with the food being really top class. The staff are particularly attentive and the American décor is fun to look at.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alwyne H.5 months ago · 5 reviews

Four of us had a delicious, relaxing lunch with the standout being the seafood. As we hadn't seen one another for some time there was plenty of talking and we were not pushed to order in fact told 'take your time, there is no rush'.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jenine K.6 months ago · 1 review

First time diners & all, were extremely satisfied customers. Used Groupon voucher for 4people, & ordered The USA Tennessee pork ribs, father & son had the rib eye, & son no'2 had lasagna. All were absolutely delicious. Drinks & desserts included. If planning a date night, there's a movie theatre across the road (you can see it from the restaurant). There's parking out the back up the laneway (there are free 1 hr parking spaces, but we parked our car undercover $2.90/hr or approx $6 all day, as I knew we were going to be there for more than an hour. Restaurant wasn't really busy (12pm booking on a Sunday, Father's Day), only 4 other tables occupied by families, so we would've been there for about an hour & a half all up. Definitely recommend The Laneway Brasserie & Bar, & have booked to return for a lunch date with my niece.

"Excellent"
6/6
Cheng L.7 months ago · 1 review

The food was yummy and waitress were really helpful and friendly, even the head waiter came and asked how was our food etc Really good service and food. The only thing we like to see change is the coffee, not sure whether the barrister was away or they have a lousy barrister; both my husband and I had coffee and The Laneway Brasserie couldn't do good coffee.

"Terrible"
1/6
HP T.8 months ago · 1 review

Don't usually give reviews but I just felt like I need to do it this time. For start, the place was hard to find, no signage display. I had to ring to get direction and realised that I had walked a few times passed the place. They were apologetic and explained that because it is a newly opened place, they were still waiting for the signage. I was not really fuss, at least I found the place, and have put that aside and believe its the food and service that will count. We were greeted and sat down. And from then onwards it's pretty much downhill from there. The waitress, with an attitude, came to our table, I explained that we were on a Cudo coupon deal and proceeded to order our 2 entrees and 4 mains and drinks. There were also 4 drinking water glasses on the table. Drinks were served by the same waitress but no bottle of water was offered - it was as if the drinking water glasses were there for display. Straight after the drinks were served 2 of our main meals, both steaks, were served. I should have questioned at that point and requested that entrees should be served before mains. But thought maybe they will served all dishes including the 2 remaining mains and 2 entrees at the same time. We waited for awhile and can see something was not right so got the same waitress over and she confessed that they made a mistake. Our steaks were meant to be for another table. She apologised and offered to take it back but we had already started eating so felt bad to have the meal taken back so accepted the meals as is. But the thing that gets me is why could she not approach us after realising the mistake. We got told after we called her over. My steak did not come with the requested mushroom sauce which I indicated to her and she said she will get that straight away. Pretty much 15mins have passed where she walked around serving other guests and have totally forgotten my requested mushroom sauce. I had to walk up to her and told her that I am still waiting for my mushroom sauce while my steak is getting cold by the minute. You'll think that after you made a mistake, you will try your best to make it up for the guest. Clearly that concept is non-existence to this waitress. She finally delivered the mushroom sauce but the damage have already been done. After eating our 2 steak mains and 2 entrees, our remaining 2 guests were still waiting for their mains. After another 15mins wait, we got hold of a waiter this time (we are not making the same mistake by getting this useless with an attitude waitress) to ask him about our remaining 2 mains. He was apologetic about the mistake but assured us that the remaining mains are on their way. The owner of the place came to clear our table and apologised about the mistake and offered us coffee afterwards. I truely believe his apologies were sincere and I would have wiped out our night's experience if they were more attentive and served us better for the remaining of the night. Of course this was not the case. After eating the remaining 2 mains, by this time the place was pretty much dead - only 2-4 tables of 2 guests left sitting around. Our table clearly had emptied plates and dirty cutleries, both the waitress and waiter walked passed our table as if we weren't there that night. The attitude waitress finally came over to take our dessert order (part of the Cudo deal). We just want to finish the dessert and leave - yes, that is how bad it was by that time. OVERALL: Service was bad, not sure if it is because we are on a Cudo deal or not. The waitress service, more like lack of it, was the biggest issue for us. She clearly had an attitude, not sure why our table. I don't want to play the racist card here but it appeared to us that she was more attentive and willing to serve other table of Caucasian guests. Food taste OK but not worth the price on the menu. It is a new place but clearly they need to get a few more people to better serve tables. Based on our experience last night and if this waitress that served us last night is the standard this place provides, then I would not be going back and would not recommend to anyone.

"Great"
5/6
Judy H.7 months ago · 1 review

We tried out this new restaurant in Camberwell/Hawthorn on a Cudo coupon. We just loved the decor as I felt like I was back in New York. The owner was really welcoming and made us feel special. The food was generous and very tasty and we all enjoyed our meal. The only reason for not giving full marks was that the waitstaff, although very pleasant and friendly, could have been more attentive as we had to attract them to order both desert and coffees. We will be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Quan B.8 months ago · 1 review

Friendly staff and excellent food quality - highly recommend Watch out for nearby parking bay around the corner from restaurant as we got parking fine from the council - it stinks from the council for booking after hour like this. It is our first time in this area. We didn't look closely enough for 1hr parking zone sign. Was getting dark when we got there 7pm.

"Great"
5/6
Fammy L.8 months ago · 1 review

Reservation was an easy process. Brasserie had a fair range on the menu, service was excellent and food portions large and reasonable priced. Food came out in good time. The only negative is that it is noisy as the venue seems to be a converted warehouse of some sort and ceilings were very high. It was a bit difficult to find as signage not clear, but, overall, we had a positive experience at the Laneway Brasserie.