Reviews Hotaru

Excellent
4.8/6
13 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Gurkha's Restaurant

CBD
5.3/629
The Gurkha's Restaurant

House Of Chow

City Centre
5.5/633
House Of Chow

13 Hotaru Reviews

Read reviews about Hotaru here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Hotaru. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Hotaru.

Excellent
4.8/6
13 Reviews
Service:Great
Food:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Cate E.a year ago · 1 review

Food is amazing, good service, they have tried with the decor but it'd the food that will have you coming back for sure, reasonably priced for Japanese meal

"Excellent"
6/6
Matthew A.a year ago · 15 reviews

Eating at Hotaru is always an excellent experience. It's a pity it's a little out of the way - just on the wrong side of Morphett Street to get much passing trade. It's a somewhat hidden gem we always highly recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Matthew A.a year ago · 15 reviews

The food at Hotaru is consistently excellent. The service is fast, especially considering it is a fine dining restaurant. The staff are very friendly and responsive as well. One our our favourite places to eat. Always great.

"Excellent"
6/6
Matthew A.a year ago · 15 reviews

The food is uniformly excellent as is the service. Great range of sushi but also non-fish dishes for those who don't want seafood. Highly recommended.

"Good"
4/6
Matthew A.a year ago · 15 reviews

We love going to Hotaru. The service is always excellent and very friendly. Last night's chicken teriyaki was overcooked and dry (and just a little bit burnt) which was very unusual - I think we've been there 10 times and this was a first. However, the rest of the meal was excellent as usual and the sushi was great.

"Good"
4/6
Chandani P.a year ago · 1 review

Very pleasant and friendly staff - even gave the birthday girl a gift key-tag! Nice plates and dishes added to the ambience. Good presentation of food. Secluded seating areas were very nice and cosy. Food had way too much sauce in all the dishes and therefore lost the natural fresh Japanese taste. Charged us $15 for bringing in and cutting the birthday cake, which we thought bit too high on top of our considerable bill. May be this is the normal market rate - first time we cut a birthday cake in a restaurant, so not sure about this.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew I.a year ago · 1 review

Hotaru is a cozy, well kept restaurant with very friendly staff and great food. Best dining experience I've had in a while, and some of the best sushi I've ever had.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rebecca S.a year ago · 1 review

Loved the delicious food, wonderful customer service and amazing ambience. They did everything in their power to make us feel welcome and I will definitely be returning.

"Excellent"
6/6
Matthew A.a year ago · 15 reviews

The food is always excellent and the service polite and friendly. It's our favourite Japanese restaurant in the city. It has never let us down.

"Great"
5/6
Mark G.a year ago · 1 review

Good food & very welcoming staff. We had a great time. They even sent out a birthday candle in the icecream, such a nice touch.