Reviews Los Amates Mexican Kitchen

FitzroyMexican$$$$
Excellent
5.1/6
157 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Mesa Verde

Melbourne CBD
5.2/679
Mesa Verde

Amigos - Hardware Lane

Melbourne CBD
4.9/6102
Amigos - Hardware Lane

157 Los Amates Mexican Kitchen Reviews

Read reviews about Los Amates Mexican Kitchen here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Los Amates Mexican Kitchen. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Los Amates Mexican Kitchen.

Excellent
5.1/6
157 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Jessica W.a year ago · 1 review

Great food, everything was delicious and came with decent sized portions. Food was a resonable price but drinks were really expensive. Staff were really great

"Excellent"
6/6
James M.a year ago · 1 review

Friendly, informative, great service and most importantly GREAT FOOD! Not your standard tex mex place, the food here feels authentic. We had a brief Tequila tour at the end of our meal too, well worth it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Clarisa M.a year ago · 1 review

We had a very pleasant evening at this restaurant. The staff was very friendly and we didn't have to wait a lot for the food. And most important, the food was delicious. Will definitely come back soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Josephine B.a year ago · 1 review

I have been to Los Amates a few times now and have not had a bad experience! The food is amazing and the staff are consistently lovely. I'm a big fan.

"Great"
5/6
Brooke N.a year ago · 1 review

Made my reservation just 20 minutes before we arrived, but no problem. (Some restaurants don't look at their online reservation systems after service starts, so this was good.) Food was great. I had Pozole Rojo from the specials menu which was just the right level of smokey-spicy. My husband enjoyed chicken mole enchiladas. The food here is very homestyle -- different from the "taco bar" or "street food" trend at the moment. This is probably because Los Amates was around long before Mexican became trendy in Melbourne. I did notice they had updated their menu to include some more "fresh mex" kind of options but I didn't try them. Something worth noting is that almost everything on the menu is Gluten Free - so much so that they mark the things that AREN'T rather than the things that ARE. The atmosphere and service are fine but nothing amazing ... come here for the food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alexandrea K.a year ago · 1 review

We had a hens dinner here the other day, it was fantastic... we ordered the $69 menu with a few things of everything and nachos and quesadilla.. there was so much food and it was all very tasty. The staff made the night though, great customer service. As it was a hens we were a little loud towards the end and doing dares and stuff, they joined in and we had a lot of fun. The decor is really cool also, they have 3 different seating areas all look comfortable and cosy. I love this place and will definitely be going back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Brian O.a year ago · 1 review

Real authentic Mexican food. The back patio is well heated, and being seated there durinng the winter is not an issue. I particularly like the Puntas al Chipotle, which the menu describes as: Charred chunks of beef steak w/ a tomato and chipotle sauce served with rice, beans and 4 corn tortillas. I admit to not fully exploring the menu, as I tend to order the same thing over and over, but my dinner companions have never had a bad word to say. Occasionally, they do special events for Cinco de Mayo and Day of the Dead.

"Excellent"
6/6
eleanora f.a year ago · 1 review

Great place for a celebration. The staff were incredible, from the chef, the wait and the bar staff. Some of our guests were unhappy with our initial seating arrangement, we were relocated when another table became available. One of our guests has a food allergy, the chef actually came out to confirm the order and modified it for us. The food was incredibly tasty and the final bill very easy on the pocket. Loved it. Thank you very much.

"Great"
5/6
Jaqueline G.a year ago · 1 review

Los Amates Mexican Kitchen cultural environment was very inviting! Although my family does not eat much Mexican food, the variety available made our experience very comfortable. The food was delicious and the restaurant was not to loud. Great place for family dining :)

"Great"
5/6
Camila V.a year ago · 1 review

I love this place, Food is always amazingly good...every time I invite someone they get happy with the pick :) ... however, when we ask for hot sauce they bring us one smoke and soft one ... Mexico es Caliente ....the blender of the bar is annoying. I am sure you can change it for something that let us enjoy the conversation. I would love to come next time and not to center my conversation on how you could buy a new silence blender