Reviews Sassafras Canteen

PaddingtonAustralian$$$$
Excellent
5.0/6
43 Reviews
Sassafras Canteen Brisbane image 1
Sassafras Canteen Brisbane image 2
Sassafras Canteen Brisbane image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

43 Sassafras Canteen Reviews

Read reviews about Sassafras Canteen here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Sassafras Canteen. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Sassafras Canteen.

Excellent
5.0/6
43 Reviews
Food:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Good value
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Tess S.3 months ago · 1 review

Lovely coffee and food. I had the avo on toast which was yum. Loved that the cafe is dog friendly. I Would definitely go again

"Excellent"
6/6
Susan A.3 months ago · 1 review

Sassafras cafe is situated in a lovely old Queenslander with eating available in a private, shady backyard. Dogs are welcome. Good variety, fresh produce and all meaks were served at the same time! Staff are lovely and very accommodating. Tip: eating outside is a little quieter than inside. It can be cold outside but they do have outdoor heating.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lou J.3 months ago · 1 review

Great food and excellent service. Good vegetarian options and very friendly staff. Good coffee and being licenced is an added bonus. Lots of special offers and meal deals. Highly recommend

"Excellent"
6/6
Karen T.3 months ago · 1 review

Sassafras Canteen is a lovely place to have a bite and catch up. The food is delicious and the staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

"Great"
5/6
David/Daphne/Vicky etc B.a year ago · 1 review

I have been going to Sassafras for many years, so I already know it is a great place, although it has recently undergone significant changes (by becoming licenced and changing to a somewhat a la carte menu), rather than a refrigerator of full of gorgeous salads, pies, etc. As it is opposite Paddington Central Shopping Centre, it is a very convenient location. Sassafras has always seemed to be a place that is convivial and somewhat funky without trying to be trendy, "edgy", and/or pandering to artsy-fartsy cutting edge wannabes. Comfortable, homey, and unpretentious without excessive stainless steel, large bottles of marinating peppers, band posters, and artificial flowers, hence (IMO) it attracts a wide range of clientele and ages, ranging from gossiping grandparents and retirees to young mothers with baby carriages to single Wi-Fi Warriors. Staff is always friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, and willing to help unusual requests (like serving a brought in birthday cake), which is nice. Peter (the proprietor) regularly seems to be around, so it becomes a very personable experience for regulars who have met him; I organised a "Social group gathering" there, knowing it could not be a bad location, although in this case, I did not see the ginger tomcat or wild turkeys wandering through the back yard, completely at home... The only comments or criticism I can make is that: a) The newly installed outdoor black shade sails are too low, absorb heat, and refract it downwards (are they white on top?). They probably need a few post attached rotating fans to blow out the layers of heated air, because due to the surrounding hedges and fences, the standing air cannot move, and won't escape upwards (no heat differential with the atmosphere); b) Despite the high ceilings (probably due to it being an old wooden house), internally, it can become quite hot, especially with the kitchen in close proximity to tables. The internal walls also prevent air flow, so at some stage, roof "whirlybirds", hot air extraction ducting, roof insulation, or upgrading the A/C to more powerful units might be worth considering. All in all, definitely my favourite local "Coffee Canteen/Bistro" and hangout. I'll still be coming regularly!

"Great"
5/6
Sandra G.4 months ago · 2 reviews

It was great food, good sized platefuls, very tasty. Son INHALED the honey and lime prawns fettucini. Hubby had the salmon, loved it too. Daughter and I had the pulled pork and bacon with fries, great as a starter to share, not so much as a meal. The menu is compact but varied, something for all of us. Are looking forward to having breakfast there another day. And taste tested the blueberry yoghurt cake - that will be a winner when it hits the menu.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gill P.a year ago · 7 reviews

I was there for breakfast and had the eggs benedict with bacon and the other order was the rib fillet steak sandwich. Both were cooked to perfection and were served in a timely manner. The wait staff are great and friendly. The place has a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. Does not matter what time of the day you come here, the food can be relied on to be great.

"Great"
5/6
Cathie P.15 days ago · 1 review

I was very glad I booked a table in advance as this was clearly a very popular place for Sunday morning. In spite of the number of people present we had a sense of privacy at our table in the shade in the back courtyard. The staff were really friendly, cheerful and responsive without hovering, and the breakfast was delicious. The cold brew coffee was perfect for a warm Brisbane morning. A very relaxed atmosphere.

"Good"
4/6
Dilip D.a year ago · 3 reviews

Food was great but they were exceptionally busy (good sign of course) but very understaffed, with strain showing on waiting staff who were virtually running, but doing a good job; they struggled to clean tables were patrons left to make way for new customers. Maybe it was an unexpected lunch time and they got caught out. Keep this in mind if you are expecting a quick lunch like I was. However, no complaints about the food or value or ambience on outside deck.

"Excellent"
6/6
Phil H.a year ago · 1 review

We have been to Sassafras on several occasions (breakfast & lunch) and have never been disappointed. The service is prompt and friendly with a great menu selection and the meals are great quality. Excellent coffee! Cool surroundings - we particularly like the external courtyard area. Can get busy so make a booking to avoid disappointment.