Reviews Bluetrain

SouthbankCafé
Excellent
4.8/6
168 Reviews

168 Bluetrain Reviews

Read reviews about Bluetrain here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Bluetrain. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Bluetrain.

Excellent
4.8/6
168 Reviews
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew M.a month ago · 1 review

We took our two young girls out for an early dinner and we are so happy with everything. The food was absolutely amazing and the staff were very attentive. Excellent.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen W.2 months ago · 1 review

We had a very enjoyable time at Bluetrain. We started with drinks in the bar during happy hour then went into the restaurant. The service was great and the food was fabulous. No complaints.

"Excellent"
6/6
Susan T.2 months ago · 1 review

Good food and service. Loved the cauliflower pizza. The falafels were tasty and not dry. Great atmosphere and lovely view of the river by night

"Excellent"
6/6
Renee H.2 months ago · 1 review

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, incredible food and amazing cocktails we had a wonderful dinner and our kids loved watching the trains and boats out of the huge windows! Loved it

"Excellent"
6/6
Jessica C.a year ago · 1 review

Thank you so much to our amazing waiter, I'm sorry I don't know your name but you could see my child was struggling last night, she was crying, overtired and struggling with dinner, it was her bday and you were so patient and non judgmental with her... We appreciated this so much as you cant tell to look at her but she is Autistic and struggles with social situations.. I wish I knew your name so we could thank you! Dinner was amazing and service was even better! Thanks you for salvaging her bday and making us feel at ease.. Blue train is extremely family friendly and can't recommend highly enough! Many thanks!!!

"Terrible"
1/6
Dan B.a year ago · 1 review

Our party of 10 persons was seated at the far end of the restaurant and it felt like we were basically forgotten needing to get our own drinks and to gesture to the wait staff when we were ready to order after waiting for some time. Most of our drinks were obtained by self service journey's to the bar. Unfortunately on one of the couple of occasions we managed to get drinks delivered to the table the waitress managed to spill two stubbies of beer down my front and on my lap, shattering one of the stubbies in the process. While I understand accidents can and do happen it was the lack of effort to clean up that was disappointing. I was not offered a towel or any other means of cleaning myself and after a basic effort to clean up a large puddle of beer was left under the table as well as fragments of broken glass. It was only due to efforts but the group that the majority of the glass got cleaned away. Once again we had to seek assistance from one of the wait staff to get the puddle under the table wiped up so we weren't sitting with our feet in it. While I was not looking for compensation it was also disappointing that it was only after the issue was raised by a colleague who was quite put out by the poor response to the situation, that any effort was made to offer compensation which comprised a replacement drink and 50% off my main course. Sitting there in slowly drying, beer soaked clothes for a couple of hours was not pleasant. While the food was reasonable, the disappointing service exacerbated by a wholly inadequate response to the accidental spill made it an unpleasant experience for me and I'd be unlikely to organise another function at Bluetrain.

"Great"
5/6
Mary W.a year ago · 1 review

Last night we enjoyed a delicious meal at Bluetrain. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. Bluetrain is a very good option for a pre theatre meal in the south bank area.

"Excellent"
6/6
David M.a year ago · 1 review

Good experience overall but to be fussy, here are some comments. Good atmosphere, albeit on average, with noise level, a bit difficult to have conversations. Coffee was acceptable but not memorable. Fish (barramundi) dish was good in terms of presentation but taste wasn't a feature. Kifler potatoes were a touch on the hard side. Food prices are good and reasonable. Regular water re-fills without having to ask are good. Despite this, I still like the restaurant.

"Great"
5/6
Steve M.2 months ago · 1 review

Great food, location and ambience. Lots of appealing menu items. Food delivery service was a bit slow (explained through trainee chef, on a Tuesday night) but we got to our theatre show without having to gobble food or rush. Menu hard to read (low light and lack of contrast of printed letters against paper background; lots of all capitals). Value for money OK. Definitely recommend booking - people in front of us at 1830 were told no tables and 30 min wait - have a drink at the bar.

"Excellent"
6/6
janielle p.6 months ago · 1 review

great lunch deal burgers and drink for 20 dollars. also much higher quality of food and service than other restaurants in the area. a slightly hidden gem above the southbank boardwalk. keep up the good work Bluetrain!