Reviews Chaco Bar

DarlinghurstJapanese$$$$
Excellent
5.2/6
183 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

HaNa Ju-Rin Japanese

Crows Nest
5.2/6137
HaNa Ju-Rin Japanese

Sushi & Grill - York Street

Sydney CBD
5.5/686
Sushi & Grill - York Street

183 Chaco Bar Reviews

Read reviews about Chaco Bar here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Chaco Bar. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Chaco Bar.

Excellent
5.2/6
183 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Vanessa B.a year ago · 1 review

Love Chaco! Delicious food, beautiful drinks and lovely staff. Authentic Japanese experience in the heart of Sydney. Get your Japan fix close to home OISHI!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Tracy T.a year ago · 1 review

Finally got a chance to go after hearing really good reviews from family and friends. Nice cosy atmosphere and the food was great! Very good customer service given it was a fully booked night!

"Excellent"
6/6
Azara D.a year ago · 3 reviews

Excellent food and drinks always eat here for the yakitori. Great vibe the atmosphere is authentic. My favorite place to have a meal and drink

"Excellent"
6/6
Janelle M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Great food, environment and excellent service - they were kind enough to take us through their sake menu and recommend the one's they thought we would like.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ian H.a year ago · 1 review

The absolute BEST Yakatori in Sydney. Chaco Bar is an incredibly authentic experience, transporting you back to the Izakaya's littering the alleys of Shinjuku and Shibuya. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and were more than helpful in picking out Sake and Sochu. The food is some of, if not, the best Yakatori we've had (yes including in Japan). All the dishes were excellent and moreish. The John Dory tiger prawn dumplings, silky miso eggplant, and Enoki and pork roll were some of our favourites. But oh my, the chicken crackling! It is exactly what is sounds like and it is awesome, get it. For the quality of food, it is certainly reasonably priced. We will be back, many times. This place is our new favourite restaurant. :D

"Okay"
3/6
Sui L.a year ago · 1 review

We've been here twice. Most recently on 16th January 2016 for a friend's birthday. The food is good, probably more on the salty side, but it is an Izakaya after all and the food is meant to be complimented with alcohol. We highly recommend the crispy chicken skewer if you were to dine here, but the service definitely left much to be desired. One of the waitresses didn't seem pleased to take our order, probably because we had booked for 6, but at the last minute, one within our party couldn't make it and the other was late. It was busy on the night we visited, we ordered rice balls at 7:20pm, but it didn't make it to the table till 8:15pm. By 8:00pm, we were reminded that we needed to vacate our seats by 8:15pm, and that if we wanted to eat the cake we brought for our friend's birthday (paying a cakage fee for that privilege) we will need to have it alongside the rice balls we were still waiting on. We had our bill plonked on the table by a member of staff at 8:10pm (still no rice balls), by which time we had decided to either cancel the order or have it take away. At 8:15pm, the rice balls were packed into a take away box and given to us. ...We can only eat as fast as we receive the food, so we vacated our table and ate our last dish hovering around our cars, on the street (which is also where we had the birthday cake). I must say, the service is very un-Japanese. For the money we paid, and the subsequent service we received, we will never come back. I'm sure we will find other Izakaya's with similar quality food. Special thank you to one particular female waitress on the night, out of the 5 different staff we interacted with, she was the friendliest and the only reason why we didn't walk out at 8:10pm without paying for the rice balls.

"Great"
5/6
Paul P.a year ago · 1 review

Small but cosy. Staff are polite and attentive. Beautiful food including but not limited to pipis, scallop, chicken heart skewer, tuna and pig's ear tataki. You can feel the scallop bursts in your mouth with the perfect tenderness and freshness of the sea. Chicken heart is tender to the extent that I thought it was not cooked enough at the first bite. Pipis have plump sweet meat and full of flavour mixed with intriguing scents from herbs. Tuna and pig's ear tataki presents the excellent combination of crispiness and tenderness, between which there's is mouthful of coriander, sesame and a hint of spiciness that brings this dish to another level. John Dory and king prawn dumplings came with a lot of chilli on the top, although it doesn't mention the word "spicy" in the menu, so we had to return it. I highly recommend green tea to go with the skewers if you don't drink alcohol. It was a great dining experience for us. We will definitely go more often.

"Excellent"
6/6
Larry G.a year ago · 1 review

We went for the Yakitori. Having just been to Japan, I was surprised and impressed with the quality and how authentic everything was. Not just the food, but the alcohol and service as well. The waitresses and chef were all super-polite and very hospitable. The premise was small but this only added to the 'authentic' japanse experience. Everything from the grill was the perfect combination of crispy exterior with juicy deliciousness inside. Would highly recommend the following dishes: - House made sizzling gyoza - Okra w/ bonito flake ponzu - Kawa - chicken crackling - Aspara maki - asparagus pork - Melanda park - organic pork belly - Teba - Wings 10/10 would eat again. We're keen to come back and try out the Ramen next time! Make sure to try the Ume-shu plum wine and the Lemon Yuzu Wine!

"Excellent"
6/6
Jessica C.a year ago · 1 review

Amazing decor, ambience and customer service like no other. Chaco Bar never disappoints! Undoubtedly the best gyoza in Sydney, served sizzling in an iron-cast pan and caramelised skewers are grilled to absolute perfection. Try the chicken crackling it is the perfect amount of fat, crunch and melt in your mouth goodness! Hands down one of my favourite places to eat!

"Great"
5/6
Markus G.a year ago · 1 review

The Chaco Bar is a tiny and very cozy restaurant. The food is authentic and everything we tried (which was the Chefs Skewers as well as Gyoza, Edamame and all kinds of other Skewers) was delicious. It is the typical Japanese 'simple dishes done to perfection' thing. Would recommend anytime! For being such a small restaurant it wasn't as loud as I expected.