Reviews Fat Buddha

Sydney CBDChinese
Very Good
3.5/6
63 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Century

Pyrmont
4.6/6109
The Century

China Chilli Chatswood

Chatswood
4.7/644
China Chilli Chatswood

63 Fat Buddha Reviews

Read reviews about Fat Buddha here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Fat Buddha. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Fat Buddha.

Very Good
3.5/6
63 Reviews
Service:Good
Value for money:Reasonable value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Erica M.a year ago · 1 review

The 10 dish yum Cha was good but I prefer to pick my own dishes I was disappointed that you had a set menu. But the service was good and I was satisfied. Many thanks Erica Mclean

"Excellent"
6/6
Stephen P.a year ago · 1 review

A great spot for a lunch time meeting with clients. Private and not too noisy. Food was great and service was efficient. Great overall value.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lisa-Maree B.a year ago · 1 review

the food was really fresh and delicious.. The restaurant is in a great location and the decor was absolutely lovely.. Would recommend this restaurant to othwr

"Excellent"
6/6
Chantel W.a year ago · 1 review

There was great food and amazing customer service ! I would highly recommend Fat Buddha to anyone that want a good meal and a great atmosphere

"Good"
4/6
Lucinda A.a year ago · 2 reviews

Fat Buddha is in a brilliant location on the top floor of the Queen Victoria Building. It has big beautiful windows which I imagine would bring in lots of lovely light on a nice day (unfortunately it was raining hard when we were there).The food was a high standard (we had yum cha). The staff seemed quite flustered and a bit confused and sometimes got snappy with each other. Considering they have daily yum cha I was a little perplexed as to how they took a lot of time clearing plates (you need lots of room for yum cha!) and we did make a particular order 3 times before it was delivered. It was fine, we werent in a hurry, but lets just say I dont think their systems work very well front of house - whatever is happening in the kitchen is very good though! Most restaurants that offer yum cha are run like well oiled machines but this is not one of them. Perhaps dinner would be better option.

"Terrible"
1/6
Ralph C.a year ago · 1 review

THE WORST RESTAURANT IN SYDNEY I used Fat Buddhas online booking system. I booked 5 days in advance. I advised in the booking i had 3 vouchers and put the codes in the booking, i later called to confirm and also inquired if i could bring a birthday cake.When i arrived the owner (an older guy) was yelling at an employee as the employee had given my table to someone else. I also booked a high chair for my son which was given to someone else and i had no where to put my son. This was a birthday lunch i was doing for my sister in law and my wife and her sister. I didn't want to ruin the day so we sat down at another table and i left my son in the pram. I presented my vouchers and was then told that i could only use 1. I argued this point as we had 4 people. They let me sit there whilst 1 guy said he would check for me and i watched him for the next 10 minutes and he went no where and then came back and said no we can't and that the lady inside was the owner and she said no. I asked to speak to the owner and he advised she was too busy. I persisted anyway and said ok i will just use the one. I went to order drinks and was advised they had no staff to prepare drinks. Water or soft drink only. I wanted to order some cocktails. We ordered some tea which did not come. For 30 minutes no food was served, we got 1 plate of calamari whilst we watched 2 lady's laugh and joke yet not serving anyone and other people started walking out of the restaurant. They had 2 people running around getting yelled at by the owner (old guy). This was bar far the worst experience and embarrassing also. As i walked out the old guy advised its not him its the owners fault. He sure looked like the owner as he yelled at the employee in front of people.

"Great"
5/6
Margie Y.a year ago · 3 reviews

I eat at Fat Buddha every few months with different groups of friends as it is conveniently located for all of us. We prefer the steamed dumplings to the less healthy deep-fried choices. The service yesterday was particularly attentive as some of the staff recognised me from previous visits. I ended up ordering more than we could eat so we had no room left even for the little custard tarts.

"Great"
5/6
Theodora Z.a year ago · 1 review

The food was delicious and the ambience opulent. The service was good. However some of the staff did not speak English, in particular the only male waiter who promptly took my voucher and then had no idea of what happened to it. This resulted in me being repeatedly asked for the voucher by at least 4 staff members, including the person who had initially taken it as soon as I arrived!!

"Great"
5/6
Kerrie B.a year ago · 1 review

We were given a voucher for xmas from out grandchildren and used it for lunch. The booking process was very easy and quick. The only problem we had was that we were not offered any drinks, either the option to buy or just water until I asked but I noticed other diners already had their tea straight away. I felt a little second class.

"Terrible"
1/6
Celia H.a year ago · 1 review

Poor customer service, the owner and staffs behind the counter were not friendly at all. We purchased a Scoopon voucher and booked via Quandoo and when we got there they said it is a the block out period, if that was the case why did they not bother to call back to inform when the booking was done, I have clearly entered the Scoopon number when the booking was done. At the end they gave us a table but looked cranky when the fault clearly did not lie with us. In regards to the food there, the quality is really bad and this review is coming from a Chinese. The xiao long bao was falling apart, the fried rice was so bland that it looked like it was plain rice with a few specs of eggs and chicken, the fried calamari was so salty it was barely edible, the desserts was bland too. Definitely not worth the money even though we got discount by using Scoopon. Usually for Yumcha in the CBD it cost around $4 - $6 a plate, and for the offer we had it was a 10 course Yumcha feast, though 7 of the dishes was half sized (eg 2 dumplings instead of 4), so at other restaurant it works out to be 7 x $3 (half size dim sims) + $6 (fried rice) + $10 (calamari) + 2 x $3 (desserts) and we paid $39 for the Scoopon voucher, so really with the voucher it is the same price as other yumcha restaurants so you can imagine how much more expensive it is without it. This is the worst Yum Cha resturaunt I have tried in the CBD, will not recommend this restaurant nor will I come back again the 2nd time.