Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Perth
Perth CBD
Tansawa Modern Japanese
Tansawa Modern Japanese Reviews

Tansawa Modern Japanese

Photo of restaurant Tansawa Modern Japanese in Perth CBD, Perth

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Tansawa Modern Japanese (51)

Read what people think about Tansawa Modern Japanese. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Tansawa Modern Japanese before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Tansawa Modern Japanese and book a table with confidence!

5.0/6

51 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
629
510
42
34
25
11
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Excellent"
6/6
Graham C.2 months ago · 1 review

The food and service at Tansawa was fantastic. The staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. We ordered different meals but shared them as they were so interesting. The presentation of the food was beautiful especially the dessert platter! Just a stunning night out. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

"Very good"
5/6
Raelene R.2 months ago · 1 review

Lovely meal, would have liked to have some water on the table but every thing was fine

"Excellent"
6/6
Darren M.3 months ago · 1 review

The food is amazing, service is fantastic & will definitely be going back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter C.4 months ago · 1 review

The owner knows us by name and accommodates our needs. We love dining at Tansawa before a WASO concert.

"Average"
3/6
Connor M.5 months ago · 1 review

Very over priced and also quantity is lacking. The tempura wasn't crispy but soft and soggy. $16 for 2 pieces of sushi is very steep. 4 pieces would have been much better

"Excellent"
6/6
Coleby S.5 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food great service been there a few times now an love it 100%

"Very good"
5/6
Anne K.6 months ago · 1 review

Very nice food - service was great too. Will return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jacques L.10 months ago · 1 review

Amazing food and service. The best Japanese I have had in Perth, including Burswood

"Very good"
5/6
Janet C.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely food and service by Yuki and Johnny's team. Thank you again.

"Average"
3/6
Thanh T.a year ago · 11 reviews

dinner for 6 people and most dishes were good but small servings in size.

"Excellent"
6/6
Victoria M.a year ago · 4 reviews

Absolutely brilliant!!! We could not have had a better experiencr.

"Excellent"
6/6
Theresa T.a year ago · 21 reviews

Side parkings available but limited if you go during a busy time. Big dining space, with lots of tables. Situated underneath a hotel with a good romantic kind of atmosphere. Excellent customer service. Limited choice of food available due to Covid but still really nice. Dishes are not big in size but filling. Good choice of Japanese alcohol beverages too. Price is slightly on the pricier side per dish.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pauline C.a year ago · 4 reviews

Don’t judge a book by its cover; the interior is simple & a little dated (at the bottom of a serviced apartment block), but hands down it’s some of the best Japanese food in Perth! Could not fault any of the dishes and great value for money!

"Very good"
5/6
Anna T.2 years ago · 14 reviews

Food exquisite. Ambience a little lacking. Was a make-shift corner of a hotel or serviced apartment lobby.

"Excellent"
6/6
Shui-Jean Y.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Love this place. Excellent service, fresh produce. We will be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda L.2 years ago · 16 reviews

Wonderful Japanese restaurant in city. Food was delicious and lots of variety.

"Excellent"
6/6
Katie T.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Delicious food and amazing service. Highly recommend this hidden gem

"Excellent"
6/6
Phuong D.2 years ago · 3 reviews

food was great and staff friendly & attentive. The owner came to check on us which is always nice 👌

"Good"
4/6
Tyronn G.3 years ago · 6 reviews

service was great and the food was well presented and unique.

"Not good "
2/6
DANIELA N.3 years ago · 2 reviews

We waited over an hour for our first course which was the chef special and then waited and waited... We ordered 2 sushi dishes that never arrived. Instead we got our hot main courses after threatening to leave which was served warm. There were no complimentary apologies and after 2 hours, and still hungry, we paid for what we had eaten and left. clearly they were short staffed as all the guests were kept waiting. The food was good, the music was pop/ dance music and very non Japanese. Not worth the cost. 😞 Won't be going back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rick M.3 years ago · 2 reviews

Quality food as always makes me a regular return visitor

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen W.3 years ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic food, service and sake recommendations were wonderful we will be back thank you to the team

"Excellent"
6/6
Bo J.3 years ago · 4 reviews

My visit was very satisfactory and the food is great!

"Excellent"
6/6
Shirley P.3 years ago · 1 review

We chose Tansawa because of its proximity to the Perth Concert Hall mostly as we had a concert. The restaurant were very sympathetic to our tight schedule and the food was brought out with plenty of time to spare. The sashimi was amazing as were all of the other dishes we chose. The bbq duck was just gorgeous and our favourite. We would go back toTansawa in a heart beat.

"Very good"
5/6
Mike F.3 years ago · 1 review

The food was exceptionally good so we really enjoyed the meal and the wine list did not disappoint 👍

"Excellent"
6/6
Melissa S.3 years ago · 24 reviews

Great food, great atmosphere, easy parking. Would definitely reccomend to groups

"Very good"
5/6
Ellyn H.3 years ago · 1 review

Easy to book, fast service, friendly staff & food was beautiful 👌 will be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Niels H.4 years ago · 1 review

Took our daughter out for dinner had sashimi , pork belly , wagu and mixed tempura we all loved it

"Excellent"
6/6
Anna P.4 years ago · 1 review

Beautiful food, wonderful service, calm and relaxing vibe. Can't wait to come back to try the degustation and omakase

"Not good "
2/6
Melody W.4 years ago · 1 review

Very long wait times. Not too busy that night too. Waited up to 3 hours for the food to come.

"Average"
3/6
Sonia F.4 years ago · 1 review

Haphazard service despite a good number of waitresses. Rice didn’t come out with the food, had to be asked for. Tempura was undercooked so you could taste uncooked batter and raw pumpkin.

"Very good"
5/6
Kiki L.4 years ago · 1 review

Friendly staff, great selection of food. Impressed by the sweetness of scallop sashimi, besides that my favourite was the creamy spicy crab.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alex C.4 years ago · 1 review

Friendly staff, the food is better than I though, one of best Japanese restaurant in Perth

"Awful"
1/6
Jean Y.4 years ago · 4 reviews

We’ve been here before and have always been happy. However, this time was very different. We left before ordering as the service was chaotic and kitchen was not keeping up. Customers were very unhappy and waiting extensively for their food. We want to continue to support this establishment, but service and efficiency must improve before we will be back.

"Average"
3/6
Rehana K.4 years ago · 5 reviews

They were sold out of aburi salmon belly and pork belly. The salmon and tuna nigiri were both not fresh fish, they were obviously frozen and defrosted. The miso eggplant was nice though.

"Excellent"
6/6
Marrea M.4 years ago · 1 review

Fabulous enjoyed it very much - thank you. See you again soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kit L.4 years ago · 1 review

Delicious fresh and tasty food. Attentive and thoughtful service. Thank you!

"Excellent"
6/6
Dale P.4 years ago · 3 reviews

Really good food, went during the weekend, not very busy. Located in CBD

"Good"
4/6
Steph K.4 years ago · 23 reviews

Tansawa offers nice japanese food. It is a bit pricey for the ambience that we get from the restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
DAVID B.4 years ago · 1 review

Very fresh food beautifully presented by a smiling waitress. The food was delicious and it is a perfect place to go to for dinner before a show nearby at the Perth Concert Hall. The meal was reasonably price. We will go again.