Reviews Thai Pothong - Newtown

NewtownThai, Asian$$$$
Wonderful
5.7/6
730 Reviews
Thai Pothong - Newtown Sydney image 1
Thai Pothong - Newtown Sydney image 2
Thai Pothong - Newtown Sydney image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

730 Thai Pothong - Newtown Reviews

Read reviews about Thai Pothong - Newtown here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Thai Pothong - Newtown. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Thai Pothong - Newtown.

Wonderful
5.7/6
730 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Savannah A.12 hours ago · 1 review

Amazing as always, 15 years still going strong. I keep coming up.

New"Excellent"
6/6
danny l.2 days ago · 1 review

Good service. Delicious food. Food come very fast. We like the set dinner.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Nindya R.2 days ago · 1 review

Best service! Food was amazing! They have the best pina colada!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Carol K.2 days ago · 1 review

great food and great time. we ate in the newly expanded basement area and it is a bit noisy but nicely done.

"Great"
5/6
Shane A.a year ago · 1 review

We dined at Thai Pothong- Newtown as it was written up in Trip Advisor as number 5 in all the restaurants in Sydney. The staff were very friendly and coped with a very busy evening. My wife had the Betel Leaf Prawns which were delicious. I had the Thai Fish cakes which were a little bit chewy but tasty. We then had the Barramundi Curry and the BBQ Pork. Barramundi was very tasty however, probably could have chosen a better dish than the pork. We were given a complimentary dessert of coconut ice cream which was very kind of them. Definitely worth a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joe C.a year ago · 1 review

Firstly let me start off by saying I can see why this restaurant is Sydneys Best Thai Restaurant. This place is simply amazing. Right from the booking online process through to entering the restaurant and being greeted promptly by passionate staff who obviously enjoy what they are doing. Then having waitstaff who are absolutely fantastic in providing customer service that is rarely seen these days. The food! Well nothing short of truly authentic tasty Thai dishes. Fresh ingredients and each dish packed with so much flavor I thought I was in Phuket enjoying my meal. This is my first time at this restaurant and I can assure you it will not be my last. The ambience is just perfect. Management should be very proud of themselves as they have perfected a truly spectacular dining experience from start to finish. I always end my reviews with a question and that is would I return for another meal? Answer is a definite YES!!Five stars 100%

"Excellent"
6/6
Evan A.a year ago · 1 review

I enjoyed my experience at Thai Pothong. Prior to my booking, my party and I were running late, but with a simple phone call they were able to assure my reservation. The service and professionalism among the staff members and waiters was outstanding. I really appreciated how alert they were by noticing the little and subtle calls of attention from customers and guest, such as myself, despite the loud but vibrant atmosphere and busy environment. It made me feel valued and respected. The food was cooked to perfection. My only quarrel to the dishes that I had was the heightened spiciness from the selection I ordered, more spicy than other Thai places and more than what I'm used to. But even then, I can't fault the very nature of Thai food. If you're searching for authenticity accompanied with excellence in service, Thai Pothong Newtown is your next dinner destination.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jaeson I.a year ago · 3 reviews

Thai Pothong Newtown is one of the most delicious experiences you'll have. They don't just have wonderfully seasoned and thoughtful dishes, they pair that with service that's polite, friendly and genuine. My wife and I have dined here perhaps 6 or 7 times in the last 10 years and they've been consistently high quality in terms of food and service. We tend to try dishes that are off the beaten path and discover new flavours in the rich sensual world of Thai cuisine. Do yourself a favour and be adventurous when you order at Thai Pothong. This night we ordered the Chilli Steamed Scallop, Coconut Seafood, Yellow Chilli Chicken, Barramundi Salad, BBQ Pork and Massaman Lamb. We only had little bits of each dish because we're into trying different flavours. Lots of delicious leftovers at a very reasonable price for such a sensory feast.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle H.a year ago · 1 review

I booked my birthday here just before Christmas. As I entered the restaurant, there were balloons waiting for me and the waiter showed us to our table. I recommend the Pad See Eew - the noodles were so soft (melts in my mouth) compared to any other thai restaurant I've been to. The Thai Milk teas are also very creamy and flavoursome. After we ate, the waiter cut my birthday cake and also added candles and sparklers on top. Whilst they brought the cake out, all the staff sang Happy Birthday and I felt very special. In addition, they also gave me a small gift as a birthday present. Overall, the service of the restaurant exceeded my expectations and I was very glad to celebrate my dinner here. I will definitely be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
David C.a year ago · 3 reviews

I’ve been wanting to try this place for a long time and I am so glad I did. My partner and I decided this would be the place to have dinner to celebrate our 3rd anniversary for we both have a love for Thai food. We booked for 7pm on a Saturday night and considering how busy it was, we got in pretty fast! We ordered promptly, the wine, cocktails and food all came within 10 minutes of ordering and it was all sublime. The staff were all extremely friendly too and made the overall experience even better. I can’t really recommend this enough and we’re already looking forward to our next visit. Best Thai in Sydney.