Reviews Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar

Geelong CBDJapanese, Asian$$$$
Excellent
5.2/6
113 Reviews
Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar Geelong image 1
Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar Geelong image 2
Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar Geelong image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

113 Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar Reviews

Read reviews about Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Tomodachi - Izakaya & Bar.

Excellent
5.2/6
113 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Amelia A.14 days ago · 4 reviews

Definitely a high class quality of food. The Tastes and the combination is beautiful!

"Excellent"
6/6
Leanne S.23 days ago · 1 review

loved everything 😍 the food, the service & the atmosphere

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynnere G.a month ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic food as always. Kitchen is very quick even when very busy. Delicious! Great place for dinner before seeing a show at GPAC. Love eating on Lt Malop Street.

"Excellent"
6/6
Caryn B.a month ago · 3 reviews

We had The Lunch special Bento boxes. They were delicious. Lunch was served in a timely fashion & staff were polite. We got a window seat and got to watch the passing parade down Little Malop Street. This area is so vibrant. We will come back soon to try something else.

"Good"
4/6
Rainer B.a year ago · 1 review

The food was very good but didn't measure up to the enticing photos on the website (or was it Tripadvisor?). The Kingfish Sashima was excellent and beautifully presented but was the only raw fish available at 8pm on Saturday night. The Unagi was very flavoursome and good value for money - although bordering on the soft side The stools are most uncomfortable. Service was good and friendly but all our 6 dishes arrived at the same time - in spite of asking for them to be brought out gradually. We were a table for 2 but were seated next to a table of 10 women - in this tiny space it made conversation very difficult. We were in and out in an hour and didn't feel inclined to linger because of the noise and the uncomfortable stools. However we will return for the flavours - but perhaps at lunch or a mid-week night - and we might bring cushions!

"Okay"
3/6
Aazina L.a year ago · 1 review

I was very disappointed with my visit and will not return. We sat down and ordered 7 dishes and a couple of drinks, and after the drinks arrived, the waitress informed us that there was no rice. Although we found this odd as it was 8.30pm on a Saturday we would expect a Japanese restaurant to have its staple food, we let it pass. Subsequently, the waitress came again and told us there was no beef and a little later she told us there were only 3 slices of salmon sashimi left (we ordered 10). Since we had already sat down and had drinks and waited for our food, we stayed anyway. As soon as we finished our food, we paid our $90 bill (for 2 pax) and left disgruntled and walked across the street to have more food at another restaurant because we were still hungry.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tegan L.a year ago · 1 review

Venue is quite cosy, so be sure to make a booking. Staff are very friendly. Food was absolutely delicious. I had gyozas for entree, the softshell crab for my main and shared a matcha ice-cream for dessert. I also had a cocktail (which are a must try!). Altogether it cost me $45, not bad at all! As i was leaving i was already trying to plan when to go back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Ritchie S.a year ago · 1 review

My wife is Japanese and I have been to Japan many times, Tomodachi is by far the most authentic Japanese restaurant in the Geelong and surrounding areas. With a Korean owner and Japanese chef, the set up is small but intimate with excellent customer service. Slightly more expensive than other outlets in the area but a really good experience, we will be back !!

"Excellent"
6/6
Josh H.8 months ago · 1 review

Beautiful Japanese food presented just as amazing. Attentive customer service, great range of tapas and flavours to try at a more than fair price. Great range of drinks including sake, cocktails, mocktails and Japanese beers. We loved our experience, the griled eggplant is a must, and of course the pork dumplings were brilliant. Cant wait to come back and try more.

"Excellent"
6/6
Justyn R.3 months ago · 1 review

A very good flavour-based experience. We booked online and when we arrived the service was prompt and friendly. Food arrived fast and fresh (advantage of as early Tuesday booking). We found the steel cafe stools for seating a little uncomfortable for settling in to a full meal after a tough day, but the food was great so forgiven.