Reviews Contrabando (OLD)

Sydney CBDLatin American$$$$
Excellent
4.9/6
222 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Contrabando

Sydney CBD
5.3/6137
Contrabando

Char & Co

Double Bay
5.3/646
Char & Co

222 Contrabando (OLD) Reviews

Read reviews about Contrabando (OLD) here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Contrabando (OLD). We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Contrabando (OLD).

Excellent
4.9/6
222 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Average
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Rita P.8 months ago · 2 reviews

The food was really yummy. Lots of good food. Very happy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ashford B.a year ago · 2 reviews

Good food good value ideal work lunch with colleagues mid week

"Excellent"
6/6
Walter D.a year ago · 1 review

I have been to Contrabando several times,first with a Groupon and then a brought some work mates for a team lunch. Always awesome. Really nice staff andcthectacos are amazing.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrea C.a year ago · 2 reviews

Taco Tuesday never disappoints :D my favourite is the pulled pork, the sauce is awesome! It does get a bit busy but the service is still decent considering the crowds.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle X.a year ago · 1 review

This was the first time I've ever eaten at Contrabando and I was not disapppinted. Delicious tacos- especially loved the crispy fish tacos which had a great texture, but for me the quesadillas were the highlights of our meal (my friend and I had the Cheeseburger and Butternut Pumpkin quesadillas). The food came quickly and the service was excellent- water was topped up regularly without having to ask which is something I always appreciate. The restaurant lighting was dim enough to make it cosy and great for Friday night catchups, but bright enough at the tables so that you can actually see and appreciate the food you are eating. Definitely going back again!

"Great"
5/6
Peta D.a year ago · 1 review

Contrabando, on a $3 taco and $10 margarita Tuesday night, is fabulous value. The fish taco, and the beef, are oustanding in taste and texture. The margaritas slip down rather too easily. They're very accommodating. We always start with a group of 12, because we never know how many (sigh), and it's never been a problem to revise down the numbers. The staff are fabulous (they're run off their feet) so they can be forgiven a small oversight from time to time - rare. We love it so much we're thinking of making a standing booking once a month.

"Great"
5/6
Victoria Y.a year ago · 1 review

$3 Taco Tuesdays at Contrabando are a reliably good lunch. Ingredients taste fresh and meals are served promptly. It's usually fully booked on Tuesdays and there is often a queue of walk-ins waiting, so you don't have much time to linger. One side of the dining space is really well lit, but it feels like you're sitting in the dark a bit on the other side.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jacqui G.a year ago · 1 review

We had a large group of about 45 people for dinner at Contrabando, the staff were so amazing and attentive, and even were able to cater at the very last second for a couple of people who had dietry requirements. This was not my first time there, and won't be my last!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lily N.a year ago · 3 reviews

This was my first time at Contrabando after hearing my friends rave about it and was not disappointed. The fish tacos were amazing, and still cannot believe it is cheaper than a dish of sushi at sushi train. Really fast service.

"Okay"
3/6
Andrew C.a year ago · 1 review

yeah - it was good. We come here a bit and have had better experiences... the waitresses were not as friendly as usual... One of them asked me if I wanted another beer - I said no - and she brought me one anyway... I was happy I spose, but the restaurant was not crowded, so she heard me OK... Also the potato dish that was ordered was described as 1/2 baked chap potatoes - and what was delivered was like potato crisps.... one last thing... the fist course - avocado dips were delivered on the table with a pile of brittle small chips/crackers - very hard to eat the avocado... and there were not enough - so lots of dips etc left over... AND we needs another plate to eat them... I hope I am not being too critical, but I though you might like to know these things...