Reviews Essen Restaurant

UltimoGerman$$$$
Excellent
5.0/6
370 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Munich Brauhaus - Sydney

The Rocks
5.2/624
Munich Brauhaus - Sydney

Bavarian Bier Cafe - Miranda

Miranda
4.9/615
Bavarian Bier Cafe - Miranda

370 Essen Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about Essen Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Essen Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Essen Restaurant.

Excellent
5.0/6
370 Reviews
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Jacinta T.a year ago · 1 review

Fantastic! Friendly staff and amazing food. Would recommend the pork spatzel. Did I mention they do spatzel? You definitely need to try the spatzel with pork. Order it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gabriel K.a year ago · 1 review

Great food and great beer. Always a fantastic experience. Had the Meat Platter and shared with a friend. We were not left wanting more, we struggled to finish.

"Excellent"
6/6
Margaret J.a year ago · 1 review

SERVICE WAS AMAZING AND THE THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND FRESH, WE ALL GOT OUR FOOD AT THE SAME TIME WHICH DOESN'T HAPPEN WITH LARGER GROUPS.BEER SELECTION WAS GREAT. WE ALL HAD A BALL. DEFINITELY GOING BACK.

"Excellent"
6/6
Simon K.a year ago · 1 review

Great place, friendly staff and good food. Booked for group of 18 with no dramas. Lots of choices of beer and classic tasty german dishes.

"Excellent"
6/6
Stephen S.a year ago · 1 review

We had a fabulous date night at Essen Restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious, and the service was excellent, friendly yet professional! The pork crackling entree is warm, crunchy and deliciously light, the pulled pork spätzle reminded me of my late grandmother's cooking. The pork sausages with the sauerkraut were divine and the giant 1 litre beer from th tap was beautiful. I was also happy to see absinthe on the menu, which I love, and it was served perfectly, with care!

"Good"
4/6
Mouy Hok T.a year ago · 6 reviews

Atmosphere: 4/6 Had a very nice vibe to the place with the hardwood and stone bricks. Felt a bit of the German flavour. Does get noisy when the restaurant is nearing capacity as it is a cozy place. Staff: 5.5/6 Well-dressed and courteous. Asked to 'surprise us' with the beer selection and wasn't disappointed with their choices. Food: 4.5/6 Had the Pork Crackling as a starter and it was good. the crackling was cut into chips and served with a side of baked apple puree that was refreshing and complimenting, yum. Also got the Meat Platter for 2 which came with the Beef Goulash, Cheese Cransky, Weisswurst, Sauerkraut, Pork Belly, Chicken Schnitzel, Lamb Shoulder and Rosti. The Beef Goulash was overcooked and felt tough. Cheese Cransky and Weisswurst were my personal favourites. Take care with cutting the Cheese Cransky as it can cause some of the cheese to squirt out. The Sauerkraut was a little to citrusy for my liking and the Pork Belly was good but nothing special. I'm not a fan of Chicken Schnitzel but didn't mind this one and the Lamb Shoulder was well cooked. Rosti was crisp but lacked impact.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle S.a year ago · 1 review

After twice trying to drop by being told they were booked out, I pre-booked Essen on Quandoo, so when we turned up they were expecting us. We were welcomed and service was quick and friendly. I asked the waiter for a recommendation as I hadn't been there before and he recommended their pulled pork German "pasta" dish. (I can't remember the real name for it). It was delicious and I ate every morsel, it was so yummy. (I'm tiny so was too full to try dessert after). My partner had the sausage tasting plate featuring 4 different sausages which he enjoyed as well. We will definitely revisit. Was pleasant atmosphere, very popular (every table full) and the other dishes looked great too.

"Excellent"
6/6
David G.a year ago · 1 review

I recommend this restaurant for large gatherings- I had a reservation for 10 people and stayed there for 2-3 hours without feeling the need to leave. I booked thru' Quandoo and there was no problem whatsoever getting a reservation. The staff were helpful and always attentive to our orders. I ordered the pork knuckle which was $32. It tasted amazing and it was unbelievably huge. i had to divide up my dish with another person. Great bargain i reckon. The beer tastes incredible and i dont consider myself a beer drinker but when it comes to German beer i always make an exception.

"Great"
5/6
Natalie C.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent range of Boutique Beers as well as imported Beers from other countries. The best Pork Knuckle crackling and the meat was flavoursome. That being said, the Meat is tastier at another German Restaurant. It was good to see the menu slightly more open than other German competitors which makes you feel inclined to order a different dish awarding yourself with a beautiful change. Portions are very big, yet beautiful to the Diner and I enjoyed the experience as it was German with the most gentle professional twist. I would definitely go back and it was beautiful to see real Vanilla Bean in the Brûlée.

"Great"
5/6
Thanh V.a year ago · 1 review

The staff were very friendly, warning us the servings are large and helped us choose our orders. The Pea & Ham soup was nice but a bit over salty so I couldn't finish it. The staff asked the reason, went straight to warn the kitchen, then offered a replacement - a very nice touch which we declined. The Pork Knucke we had as main was better than at others restaurants we tried - juicy inside and crunchy outside. I loved the Black Forest Mousse Cake, creamy and light. I even bought an extra one to take home!