Reviews Deer Duck Bistro

AuchenflowerGourmet, Australian, European$$$$
Excellent
5.0/6
204 Reviews
Deer Duck Bistro Brisbane image 1
Deer Duck Bistro Brisbane image 2
Deer Duck Bistro Brisbane image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

204 Deer Duck Bistro Reviews

Read reviews about Deer Duck Bistro here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Deer Duck Bistro. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Deer Duck Bistro.

Excellent
5.0/6
204 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Service:Great
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Joshua R.11 days ago · 1 review

Celebrating our 2nd anniversary, we ordered the long course with wine pairings. They did a great job of matching wines with the courses. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Each dish was full of new and exciting flavours, and many Incorporated native Australian ingredients. We had an amazing night.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Ian W.11 days ago · 1 review

I cannot speak highly enough about my experience at the Deer Duck Bistro. The food is exceptional, the atmosphere brilliant and quiet, the service was outstanding. Just excellent.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah R.12 days ago · 1 review

Goede sfeer, met heerlijke eten. Een uniek ervaring in Brisbane.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Michael H.12 days ago · 1 review

A wonderful set of vegetarian dishes - we’ll be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Kate L.4 months ago · 1 review

We dined here for my mother's birthday and it was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The food and service was impeccable. We did the 5 course degustation menu and whilst initially thinking this may not fill us up we were (delightfully) proven very wrong. An added touch, after stating when we arrived that we were celebrating my mother's birthday, at the end of the meal the young waitress brought out an additional little ice-cream dessert for my mum with a candle and Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. A total surprise and a wonderful, thoughtful touch. Thank you Deer Duck Bistro for a truly wonderful evening we won't be forgetting any time soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Meika M.a year ago · 1 review

The food was great and the wines were matched perfectly to each dish. I only have a couple of complaints (though small): The pork dish I was looking forward to, unfortunately the pork was a little dry. There was one salad dish which did not have as much flavour as the other dishes which I guess it is a salad, however the nuts were really hard, hurt your teeth hard, made it quite unpleasant to eat. Otherwise everything else was amazing and the dessert was so well balanced. Make sure you get a little bit of everything in one spoonful, it will blow your mind! Thank you Deer Duck Bistro.

"Great"
5/6
Gordon W.a year ago · 1 review

We had a delightful meal at the Deer Duck Bistro. The restaurant has a wonderful ambiance, and the intelligent use of lighting and furniture makes the small space feel cosy and private rather than cramped. The menu has a range of degustation experiences of varying levels of gluttony. We chose the smallest 5 course variant with matching wine, which was just right for two small eaters. The food was exquisite, and the matched wines were excellent. We didn't give the sixth star because the service wasn't quite there. The staff certainly worked very hard and did their best, but lacked that skill and flair that marks exceptional service. All in all, a great evening and we will go back for sure.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jack W.a year ago · 1 review

The setting was calm and relax but with an intense mood generated by the elegant decor. Being led into the mysterious interior is like static as you're filled with anticipation for what the night will bring. That anticipation is satisfied and exceeded beyond expectation. The lady that served us embodied fine dining and was only surpassed by the extraordinary meal set before us. Each ingredient built on the last to almost paint a taste-picture. I could not recommend Deer Duck Bistro enough, please find an excuse to treat yourself and loved ones to a truly wonderful experience.

"Great"
5/6
Steve L.8 months ago · 1 review

Ssshhhhh...don't tell anyone about this place. Dinner on Saturday at Deer Duck was a real find. Reservations full elsewhere in the city but this place 5 mins out of town will now become a regular haunt for us. No a la carte menu on a Saturday but the set dinner menu (choice of 5, 7 or 9 courses with or without wine) was excellent. Food was well though out, kitchen was flexible in swapping a blue tart topped with Waldorf salad (we'd prefer not to eat blue cheese or celery) to a pickled mushroom and truffle ensemble which was both interesting to look at and wonderful to eat. There's a limited selection of wine across a wide price range but mid range wine was superb with our menu. Remembering this is a Bistro, service is not restaurant quality. They did put a lot of effort into presenting every plate but their (in)experience and attentiveness (to empty wine glasses, napkins, missing cutlery) was almost worth mentioning to management but it won't stop us returning. In fact, we're both looking forward to it already!

"Great"
5/6
Matthew D.a year ago · 1 review

Deer Duck has a nice authentic original and cozy atmosphere. The five course degustation menu which we had with matching wines was excellent. The highlights for me were the spanish mackerel and the suckling pig. The presentation and service were first class. The usual criticism of a degustation menu applies in that the tiny portions tend to leave you feeling teased and not completely satisfied. A more serious criticism is that the website very clearly says that on Tuesday nights the degustation menu is only $70. It isn't. It was $99 pp. We were told this was because the menu had changed which it had in part - roughly half of the dishes had changed. However really the restaurant needs to either keep its website up to date or honour the promises they make there. Overall I would certainly go again. I'd probably opt for a"proper" meal next time and hope to leave feeling fuller.